Mu’azu Sambo has been reassigned as Minister of Transportation following the reshuffling of the executive cabinet by President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday.

Sambo replaces Sen. Gbemisola Saraki who was moved to the Ministry of Mines & Steel.

In the same development, Ademola Adegoroye was named Minister of State for Transportation.

This comes seven months before the 2023 presidential election in the country.

TNMN gathered that shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council Meeting, the President administered an oath of office to seven newly appointed ministers recently confirmed by the Senate.

He urged the new ministerial appointees to consider their emergence as a call to duty that demands diligent service to the nation.

Those sworn in are Henry Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom), Udi Odum (Rivers), Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano), Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo) and Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi).

The new ministers replace those who resigned their appointments to contest for various elective offices during the 2023 general elections in April.

Before the council meeting, a minute of silence was observed in honour of the outgoing Secretary-General of OPEC Mohammed Barkindo who died on Tuesday evening, hours after meeting with Buhari.

Meanwhile, physically in attendance is the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, and Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari.

Also, physically attending the meeting are Ministers of Mines and Steel Development, Olamilekan Adegbite; Communication and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami; Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami; Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva.

The Head service of the Federation Folashade Yemi Esan and other Ministers are attending virtually from their various offices in Abuja.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *