Prof. Fabian Ajogwu ,SAN has emerged  President and Chairman of the Governing Council  of the Nigerian Institute of Chartered Arbitrators.


Following a recent election, Ajogwu steps in as President with the retirement of Aare Afe Babalola, CON, SAN former President of the Institute.

The Institute  was established in 1979 under the leadership of former Attorney General of Nigeria Judge Bola Ajibola, SAN.


The new President, Fabian Ajogwu who was born  on June  23, 1970, and is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria and Lagos Business School Professor of Corporate Governance, and a  Founding partner of Kenna Partners.



He is an Alumnus of the Said Business School of Oxford University and Lagos Business School . Ajogwu holds a doctorate in law from the University of Aberdeen, Scotland; an MBA from the IESE Business School, University of Navarra, Barcelona; and Law degrees from the University of Nigeria and the University of Lagos.


He is the author of the leading arbitration text – “Commercial Arbitration in Nigeria: Law and Practice” as well as  “Fair Hearing’ and ‘Mergers & Acquisition in Nigeria: Law and Practice”. Professor Ajogwu who is a Fellow and Director of the Society for Corporate Governance Nigeria; a Fellow of the Nigerian Institute of Chartered Arbitrators also authored “Ship Acquisition & Finance: Law & Practice”.


He served as Honorary Counsel to the State of Israel in Nigeria and the Republic of South Africa in Nigeria.


Prof Ajogwu also assisted the Securities and Exchange Commission draft Nigeria’s pioneer Code of Corporate Governance and chaired the Nigerian Communications Commission Committee on Corporate Governance, which produced the pioneer NCC Code of Corporate Governance for the Telecommunication sector.

Furthermore, he served on the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria Committee on the 2018 National Code of Corporate Governance. In addition, he chairs the Body of Senior Advocates of Nigeria Committee on Continuing Legal Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *